46 Minecraft Statistics

These minecraft figures cover the measurement periods and populations identified in the available source material. Estimates, surveys and forecasts retain their reported scope.

Key Minecraft Statistics

The main findings are:

  • Minecraft had nearly 140 million monthly active users (2021 fact sheet).
  • North American Minecraft sales were split 41% PC/Java, 19% console and 40% Pocket Edition/Windows 10 in the cited sales graphic (2017 sales graphic).
  • Minecraft Marketplace content downloads exceeded 1 billion unique pieces (through 2021 fact sheet; global Marketplace).
  • Minecraft became the first entertainment franchise to pass 1 trillion YouTube views (2021 milestone; global Minecraft content).
  • More than 40,000 school systems across 140 countries use Minecraft Education (page accessed 2026; global Minecraft Education users).
  • Minecraft Education’s AI Foundations curriculum contains 17 complete learning experiences (2025 curriculum overview).
  • Minecraft had sold more than 238 million copies worldwide (2021 fact sheet).
  • European Minecraft sales were split 36% PC/Java, 29% console and 35% Pocket Edition/Windows 10 (2017 sales graphic).
  • Marketplace creator earnings exceeded $350 million (through 2021 fact sheet; global Marketplace creators).
  • One trillion one-second views would total more than 30,000 years of viewing time (2021 milestone; global Minecraft YouTube content).
  • Millions of educators and students use Minecraft Education in 115 countries (2021 fact sheet; global Minecraft Education).
  • AI Foundations is designed for grades 2–8 and ages 8–14 (2025 curriculum overview; school learners).
  • Minecraft Marketplace creators had generated more than $350 million from mods, add-ons and other experiences (through 2021 fact sheet; global Marketplace).
  • Asia-Pacific Minecraft sales were split 51% PC/Java, 30% console and 19% Pocket Edition/Windows 10 (2017 sales graphic; Asia / Asia-Pacific).
  • Minecraft Marketplace Pass offers more than 150 worlds, skin packs and texture packs (product listing opened 2026).

Contents

Minecraft sales and player-scale statistics

Microsoft fact-sheet estimate; not a current active-user count.

Cumulative sales to the fact-sheet date, not unique players.

Cumulative creator earnings reported by Microsoft; scope is Marketplace creator sales.

Downloads are content-level events, not users or purchases.

Registered accounts are not equivalent to active or paying users.

Average age is reported for the combined regional audience; distribution and sampling method are not given in the fact sheet.

Reported audience statistic; survey design and denominator are not detailed in the fact sheet.

Awareness is not gameplay or purchase; source does not give fieldwork details.

Minecraft audience, awareness and regional adoption data

  • North American Minecraft sales were split 41% PC/Java, 19% console and 40% Pocket Edition/Windows 10 in the cited sales graphic (2017 sales graphic). (Minecraft Franchise Fact Sheet)
  • European Minecraft sales were split 36% PC/Java, 29% console and 35% Pocket Edition/Windows 10 (2017 sales graphic). (Minecraft Franchise Fact Sheet)
  • Asia-Pacific Minecraft sales were split 51% PC/Java, 30% console and 19% Pocket Edition/Windows 10 (2017 sales graphic; Asia / Asia-Pacific). (Minecraft Franchise Fact Sheet)
  • Latin American Minecraft sales were split 38% PC/Java, 15% console and 47% Pocket Edition/Windows 10 (2017 sales graphic). (Minecraft Franchise Fact Sheet)
  • Middle East and Africa Minecraft sales were split 44% PC/Java, 21% console and 35% Pocket Edition/Windows 10 (2017 sales graphic). (Minecraft Franchise Fact Sheet)
  • Minecraft had sold more than 106,859,714 copies in the historical sales graphic (2017 sales graphic). (Minecraft Franchise Fact Sheet)
  • Minecraft averaged more than 53,000 copies sold per day from the beginning of 2016 in the cited graphic (from January 2016 to the graphic date). (Minecraft Franchise Fact Sheet)

Regional product mix from the source graphic; editions and sales accounting reflect the historical period.

Historical regional product mix; not a current platform-share estimate.

Historical regional product mix; region combines Asia and Asia-Pacific in the source.

Historical regional product mix; not a player-share measure.

Historical regional product mix; not a current installed-base measure.

Historical cumulative total superseded by later franchise figures.

Historical average stated by the source; it should not be projected to later periods.

Minecraft Marketplace and creator-economy statistics

  • Minecraft Marketplace content downloads exceeded 1 billion unique pieces (through 2021 fact sheet; global Marketplace). (Minecraft Franchise Fact Sheet)
  • Marketplace creator earnings exceeded $350 million (through 2021 fact sheet; global Marketplace creators). (Minecraft Franchise Fact Sheet)
  • Minecraft Marketplace Pass offers more than 150 worlds, skin packs and texture packs (product listing opened 2026). (The Most Important Moments in…)
  • Realms Plus supports private servers with up to 10 friends (product listing opened 2026; Minecraft Realms Plus). (The Most Important Moments in…)
  • The Minecraft product listing showed a $19.99 price before the displayed discount (product listing opened 2026; Xbox/Microsoft Store listing). (The Most Important Moments in…)
  • The same listing showed a $15.99 discounted price (product listing opened 2026; Xbox/Microsoft Store listing). (The Most Important Moments in…)
  • Minecraft Education includes more than 600 standards-aligned lessons and immersive worlds (page accessed 2026; Minecraft Education library). (What Is Minecraft Education?)
  • Minecraft educator resources list more than 500 lesson plans across subjects (page accessed 2026; Minecraft Education resources). (Resources for Minecraft Educators)

Counts content items, not distinct downloaders.

Cumulative amount and creator scope are as defined by Microsoft.

Current product-listing quantity is a catalog count and may change monthly.

Capacity is a product limit, not observed participation.

Store price is market- and time-sensitive; it is not global revenue.

Temporary displayed price; not a universal or historical price.

Library count is a catalog snapshot and can change.

Resource-page count is a catalog snapshot; it differs from the separate 600+ library count.

Views are for Minecraft content on YouTube, not unique viewers or in-game play.

Illustrative conversion quoted by Xbox/YouTube; it assumes every view lasts one second.

Annual platform-view comparison reported in the fact sheet; not unique viewers.

Franchise age is context for the trend, not a player or sales metric.

A release count of one does not measure sales or players.

Release fact; no player or revenue inference is made.

Minecraft Education reach and classroom-resource statistics

Company-reported adoption; school-system use is not equivalent to student-level active use.

The fact sheet combines educators and students and uses “millions,” not a precise user count.

Licenses are not necessarily active users and combine students with teachers.

License reach does not measure usage intensity.

Date is included as product-history context, not counted as an adoption statistic.

The source uses the imprecise phrase “more than millions”; it should not be converted into an exact count.

Training completion is not the same as classroom implementation or student participation.

Minecraft learning outcomes and program-delivery statistics

  • Minecraft Education’s AI Foundations curriculum contains 17 complete learning experiences (2025 curriculum overview). (AI Foundations Curriculum Overview)
  • AI Foundations is designed for grades 2–8 and ages 8–14 (2025 curriculum overview; school learners). (AI Foundations Curriculum Overview)
  • AI Foundations provides 32–37 hours of instruction (2025 curriculum overview; AI Foundations curriculum). (AI Foundations Curriculum Overview)
  • AI Foundations is available in 29 languages (2025 curriculum overview; AI Foundations curriculum). (AI Foundations Curriculum Overview)
  • One school documented a 25% drop in absences after implementing Minecraft-based lessons (reported school case; date not specified). (AI Foundations Curriculum Overview)
  • The AI Foundations Teacher Academy course is a free, self-paced 3-hour online course (2025 curriculum overview; Minecraft Education educators). (AI Foundations Curriculum Overview)
  • The Minecraft Teacher Academy is described as a 3-module learning path (page accessed 2026; Minecraft Education educators). (Resources for Minecraft Educators)
  • A coding intervention increased mean computational-concept scores from 3.55 before instruction to 12.9 afterward (2022 study summarized in 2025 review; class-5 students using Minecraft Education). (Assessing the benefits of digital…)
  • In a fraction-learning study, the Minecraft intervention group improved significantly while the education-as-usual control group did not (control p=0.18; intervention p<0.001) (2021 study summarized in 2025 review; class-5 students). (Assessing the benefits of digital…)
  • A geometry study reported higher post-test than pre-test scores with p<0.001 (2020 study summarized in 2025 review; children aged 9–11). (Assessing the benefits of digital…)

Curriculum-component count, not learner outcome data.

Target population of the curriculum, not measured enrollment.

Planned flexible implementation range, not observed classroom time.

Language availability does not measure learner reach by language.

Single-school case reported in a program overview; no causal generalization to all Minecraft use.

Course duration is not completion or training-impact data.

Training structure, not enrollment or completion.

Single-group pre/post design; the review reports p<0.01 and r=0.87, so the change is not a randomized causal estimate.

Groups were not randomly assigned and baseline matching was not reported.

Single-group study with 10 children; the review cautions against broad interpretation.

Table of contents